Blogging 365 · Environment · Public Service · Travel

He Is Everything But…

I chanced upon a Youtube video today which shows an American man, Jimmy Sieczka, going around Cebu talking about the twenty (20) reasons why he dislikes the Philippines. He is currently a mentor at the International Academy of Film and Television in Cebu, Philippines after several years as a production sound mixer.

In his video, he goes around Cebu talking about the things that pisses him off (he has lived 3.5 years of his life in the country):

1. Seeing manholes with a giant drum to cover it.
2. Being sold “sialis” – a drug that increases the lack of erection.
3. Refrigeration and sanitation (referring to street food).
4. Terrorists (MILF).
5. Unfinished construction sites that pose danger to people and property around.
6. The whole array of skin whitening products.
7. Traffic and pollution.
8. Purchasing a gum and getting it wrapped in plastic and receipt.
9-20 Watch the whole video to check out the rest of his list: Click HERE for the SOURCE

NOTE: The video was removed from YouTube already due to copyright claims by ChannelFix. Click this LINK to view the video.

I would agree to his list really. I am sure this will result to different opinions and more often than not a Filipino that is full of pride will be greatly affected and will react. I am not mad nor raging in disbelief how an arrogant foreigner can be this honest. He clearly showed the cold, hard truth. I have observed what he had observed. He may be arrogant, but clearly he is not a liar (at least in this video).

I hope this video serves as a wake-up call to every Filipino.

Please feel free to comment…

16 thoughts on “He Is Everything But…

  1. He can be brutally honest. You can hate him. Have him as a persona non grata or drive him out of the country. But the thing is, and I would have to agree on this one, hating him DOES NOT make his statements any false. Some things are really shitty in the Philippines and even if we hate him for pointing it out, it doesn’t make the shitty things any better.

    1. Yes he was brutally honest and that’s why I liked the candidness and the attitude (even what he said are all negative). I agree as well that hating him does not make his statements false because they are all true. I am happy that you are open-minded enough to accept that what he said are true,

  2. I am just a concerned person who was born in the Philippines, This Jimmy Sieszca if he experienced something in the country not acceptable to his standard, he should have not stayed & worked in the Philippines for like more than 3 years?, hopefully the people although not an English speaking people have welcomed this jimmy siezca in their most hospitable way they can, so please he did’nt have to ever degrade more these people because it was not their fault to be poor…….& to tell you frankly there are more pleasant ways to stay in t5he Philippines, he just pointed out all the negative ones….

    1. I am a Filipino too living in the Philippines for almost 30 years and I have a list of things that I hate the Philippines for. It is his opinion and we need people like him to shove the truth in our throats and do something about the ill things he mentioned.

      In all fairness, this video is 50% of the project of his team. You may search for the 20 things they like about the Philippines too.

  3. Hehe. I honestly think this guy has his whole rights to judge about the Philippines and I don’t have any problems to what ever he found out about it. I actually like to hear from him more about how he hates the Philippines .. speaking he’s just in Cebu .. Why not take a visit in Manila and you’ll see more shitty places and things there. Anyway that said, everything is shitty.

    thanks for pointing all those out about in Philippines and in fact the 20 reasons has to like 100 reasons.

    You just seen the land how it really looks like? Why not test the Filipinos what’s their really attitude is in terms of being “Friendly” and “Hospitable”

    1. He has every right to judge the place where he lives as much as anyone of us do. I’m sure that if he said he liked the toilets without seats or he liked the terrorists and the unsanitary market and street foods then he would be considered a liar. This is one classic example that people will hate you when you speak the truth.

  4. I am sorry to those who left comments that I will not publish. You hated this person because he’s swearing but that doesn’t give you a right to swear as well. Also, just to be clear where I stand with this issue, I am a Filipino too but there are a lot of things I hate in the Philippines. Sometimes, we just have to be open-minded that not everyone will like the Philippines. We all have to face the fact as well that what he said were true and yes he was just being brutally honest.

    I hope everyone who reads this blog post will put everything in perspective and not wallow and feel bad instead do something to correct whatever this guy has pointed out. And yes, I do hate security guards that frisk you and dip the stick inside your bag without even really checking what’s inside the bag or what’s hidden in my pocket and I could go on and on but I choose to keep my list for now. I am telling you, it’s growing…

  5. Those who would be “outraged” by this video are hypocrites. The guy is just speaking out loud what most of us think of privately.

    Since he’s a foreigner, a lot of people will call for him to be called persona non grata. If he was a local, people will say that he’s being unpatriotic

    If there’s one thing you can call him, it should be HONEST!

    1. I can only agree… 🙂 Thanks for being one of the open-minded citizens of this country filled with flaws but rather a nice country to live in.

  6. He’s right, and you can see a lot of those 20 things he hated in the Philippines in other countries too, even in more progressive nation than PHL.

  7. It’s so amazing that people give credibility to the word of a foreigner as if his words came straight out of the Bible. It seems like most people are blind to the ills of PH before this foreigner posted his video on the Philippines’ negative points. Good grief! We people know fully well our ills and yet we praise this foreigner’s negative comments as if we have just been aware of our country’s problems for the first time. And people think the word of the foreigner – while grossly erroneous in some parts – should be an eye-opener for the government to act on our problems. Nasty colonial mentality! Tsk tsk.

    1. It’s so amazing that people give credibility to the word of a foreigner as if his words came straight out of the Bible. -If it was a Filipino that made that video, I will still post this blog entry just the same.

      It seems like most people are blind to the ills of PH before this foreigner posted his video on the Philippines’ negative points. Good grief! We people know fully well our ills and yet we praise this foreigner’s negative comments as if we have just been aware of our country’s problems for the first time. -That is your opinion. Let me tell you however that I am not blind and I am FULLY aware of the negative things that are happening in the Philippines. For the record, I praise his HONESTY. By the way, just in case you did not do your research, this person talking in this video LOVES the Philippines so much that he got a tattoo of the Philippine flag to immortalize it. I may never know what his true intentions are because I do not know him personally but AT LEAST he did say the what he feels albeit not thinking that he might touch the ego of onion-skinned Filipinos who does not appreciate such.

      And people think the word of the foreigner – while grossly erroneous in some parts – should be an eye-opener for the government to act on our problems. Nasty colonial mentality! Tsk tsk. -Why shouldn’t it be one of the eye openers? How did it become a form of colonial mentality? Let me just reiterate that if it was a Filipino who did this video, I would still praise that person for having the guts to air his grievances out in the open much more outline the things he hate about the country. If you don’t have a list of the things you hate then I applaud you. To each his own…

  8. Let’s face facts. The fellow in the video is an a**hole. Most people in his own country probably even think he’s an a**hole. He’s vulgar, profane, arrogant and a racist. The vast majority of what he says is either misleading, exaggeration or just lies. I can go through this video point for point and refute nearly everything he has to say. As a kano myself, I am ashamed of this guy. Don’t fall for his elistist propaganda. Cebu is wonderful! Gighigugma ko Cebu!

    1. Yes please refute every point he said. I would love to hear what you have to say. And oh, how long have you stayed in the Philippines?

      1. Hello KT. Maayong buntag.

        I have posted a point for point rebuttal on my own blog. You can see it at;

        http://www.travelswithgoyo.com/2012/03/19/20-things-i-dislike-about-jimmy-his-video/#more-1512

        If you don’t wish to post the link to my blog then please contact me and I can copy and paste the post here.

        Although I do not yet live in Cebu permanently I have plans to be there full time in the near future. We do own a 500 m2 lot on Mactan but we have not built on it yet. I have been travelling to Cebu for almost 25 years and the Philippines for longer. Akong asawa of 22 years is a native Cebuana.

      2. Thank you for obliging. You have raised very valid points and I appreciate that you live, breathe, think, love the Philippines so much.

        I don’t know why I am facing people who judged him maybe because I share some if not all of the things that he dislikes. The things he mentioned do not just exist in Cebu, it’s just so happened that he has stayed the longest in Cebu. I lived in Cebu for more than a year and I have seen some of the ills that he mentioned. I am now living in Manila and I have a longer list than him. I’ve traveled to a few other countries and I have my own list of disliking them too. It’s just that I could not produce and host a video to post online. Does that make me someone like him? No! Simply because I am not born to like everything and anything.

        Yes, the Philippines is nice but it could be better. The items he mentioned showed that the Philippines is a work in progress and if everyone just acknowledges these flaws then we can all start building a better nation together.

        Thank you for taking time to read my blog and post a comment. Thank you as well for not cursing in my blog unlike those ones I did not publish. I hope we can come to a point where we can agree to disagree. I will respect your point of view and please I hope everyone respects my point of view too as well as Jimmy’s. I hope once and for all everyone thinks like the Mayor of Cebu City and not the Councilor who wants to submit a resolution to declare Jimmy as “persona non grata”.

        P.S.
        Just a little info on the guy that is in the limelight right now, he has a Philippine flag tattooed on his left arm.

Leave a Reply

